North Dakota Library Coordinating Council

Regular Meeting – November 2 & 3, 2005

Comfort Suites – 929 Gateway Avenue Bismarck, ND 58501

Wednesday, November 2, 2005

Council Members Present: Chair Lila Pedersen, Bonnie MacIver, Iris Swedlund, Cheryl Tollefson, Jan Wysocki, Ilene Larson, Jeanne Narum, Phyllis Kuno, Rosemarie Myrdal, and Doris Ott

Council Members Absent: Quincee Baker

Others Present: Cynthia Larson, Assistant State Librarian, and Lorretta Graumann, North Dakota State Library recorder

Guests Present: Jerry Kaup, Director, Minot Public Library

Call to order: Chair Pedersen called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m. (CST). Pedersen asked for changes or additions to the agenda. The additional agenda items of "next grant round" and "presentation by Jeanne Narum" were added.

Minutes: Pedersen asked for any corrections to the minutes from Council's last meeting via conference call on September 6, 2005. Wysocki made a motion to approve the minutes. Kuno seconded it. Motion carried.

Think Tanks: Council discussed format and questions to be used for the Think Tanks scheduled for Fargo, February 17; Dickinson, February 24; and Minot, February 27, 2006. Ott stated the purpose of the Think Tanks will be to talk about the future. Since an LSTA evaluation will be due in 2007, Ott asked Council members if there should be another set of meetings in early 2007; or it could be a combination of focus groups and a survey (i.e. phone survey). Ott stated that one important piece would be to collect real-life stories. Some Council members shared human interest stories from their own libraries. The questions for the format should address "What do we want to know?"

It was suggested that Council could finalize the questions to be used for the Think Tank sessions through a conference call. All Council members were in agreement.

The Think Tank audience will include librarians, trustees, and anyone they want to bring; it is open to the public, and it would be good for librarians to invite their commissioners. Press releases will be sent out with Think Tank information. Cindy Larson will check into speaker availability and costs for the meetings.

Ott reviewed the goals for LSTA from the Long Range Plan, which is what the State Library is currently working on.

All Council members thought it would be a good idea to provide lunch for Think Tank participants and reimburse mileage at 15 cents per mile for those that drive to the meetings. Registration could be done through the mail or on-line. Council decided to have a drawing as incentive for people to bring their real-life stories; the entry forms would be distributed and also collected at the door.

Each table of participants will decide who will be the recorder, the moderator, and the reporter. There was discussion on having State Library staff act as moderators at all the meetings since they could be trained ahead of time in that role.

Ott stated that the Coordinating Council cosponsors the Think Tanks with the State Library and suggested the Council members act as "floaters" at the meetings. They will wear a special name tag that identifies them as Coordinating Council members and will spend some time at each table, interacting and answering questions, etc.

There was also discussion on doing a post evaluation at the end of the meetings. Another important area is needs assessment which also impacts LV 2010.

Presentation by Narum: Narum made a presentation to Cheryl Tollefson for the Librarian of the Year award from NDLA.

Council adjourned at 4:30 p.m. (CST)

ND Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting

Thursday, November 3, 2005

Council Members Present: Chair Lila Pedersen, Bonnie MacIver, Iris Swedlund, Cheryl Tollefson, Jan Wysocki, Ilene Larson, Jeanne Narum, Phyllis Kuno, Rosemarie Myrdal, and Doris Ott

Council Members Absent: Quincee Baker

Others Present: Cynthia Larson, Assistant State Librarian, and Lorretta Graumann, North Dakota State Library recorder

Call to order: Chair Pedersen called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m. (CST).

Grant Awards: Council reviewed and discussed the grant applications received for the 2005-2006 grant round. The following applications met the eligibility criteria and were recommended for grant awards with dollar amounts and stipulations noted:

1. Bowman – Clara Lincoln Phelan Memorial Library

\$ 1,400.00

2. Carrington – City of Carrington Library (Contingent upon paying for Online Library Resources)	\$ 7,000.00
3. Devils Lake – Lake Region Public Library (Contingent upon letter of support)	\$ 5,964.00
4. Edgeley – Edgeley Public Library (Contingent upon letter of support)	\$1, 138.00
5. Enderlin – Enderlin Municipal Library (Contingent upon letter of support)	\$ 1,750.00
6. Minot – Minot Public Library	\$ 2,550.00
7. Minot – Minot Public Library	\$ 2,400.00
8. Minot – Minot Public Library	\$ 5,650.00
9. Pingree-Buchanan Elementary & High School Libraries	Unfunded
10. Velva – Velva School and Public Library (Contingent upon letter of support)	\$10,190.00

TOTAL \$38,042.00

MacIver made a motion to fund the grant awards in the amount \$38,042.00. Wysocki seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Council members discussed the budget page of the grant application and suggested there be more itemizing under supplies and equipment; delete "up to \$1,000" in the equipment for digital project budget category; and correct "Contacts/Vendors" to say "Contracts/Vendors."

Other: Pedersen informed Council members about the NCLIS Health Awards for Libraries. An e-mail has been sent out but no applications have been received. If Council knows of a library, they could nominate it.

Council discussed making grants available for libraries to add records to OCLC. Swedlund made a motion that a piece be added to the next round of grant categories for adding records. Tollefson seconded it. Motion carried.

Council decided to hold the next Council meeting on February 28, 2006, in Minot. This would be the day after the Think Tank session is held there.

Chair Pedersen adjourned the meeting at 11:30 a.m. (CST).