North Dakota Library Coordinating Council regular meeting via conference call - April 12, 2006

The North Dakota Library Coordinating Council held a regular meeting via conference call this 12th day of April 2006. The agenda and minutes of the previous meeting were distributed electronically to the Council members.

<u>Council members present:</u> Chair Lila Pedersen, Quincee Baker, Phyllis Kuno, Ilene Larson, Bonnie MacIver, Rosemarie Myrdal, Jeanne Narum, Doris Ott, Iris Swedlund, and Jan Wysocki.

Council members absent: Cheryl Tollefson.

Others present: Cindy Larson, Assistant State Librarian; and Lorretta Graumann, State Library Recorder.

Chair Pedersen called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. (CST). Pederson asked for additions or changes to the agenda. There were none.

Pedersen asked for approval of the February 28, 2006, minutes from Council's previous meeting. Baker stated the fourth paragraph on page two is confusing because it reads as if the terms of the Council members holding the offices of Chair and Vice-Chair expire on June 30, 2006, and that it should state their terms of office end on that date. Swedlund made a motion to adopt the minutes with the correction "terms of office" made to that paragraph. Baker seconded it. Motion was approved unanimously.

Pedersen stated that her one-year term as Chair and Swedlund's term as Vice-Chair are expiring; she offered encouragement to whoever is elected and stated she would share the Excel spreadsheet passed on to her by Tom Bremer to track grant awards. Pedersen reviewed the Council members eligible for the two offices. Pedersen then opened the floor for nominations for the office of Chair. Wysocki nominated Swedlund. MacIver seconded it. Kuno moved that nominations cease. Myrdal seconded it. Motion was approved to cast a unanimous ballot for Swedlund.

Pedersen opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice-Chair. MacIver nominated Kuno. Kuno respectfully declined the nomination. I. Larson nominated MacIver for the office of Vice-Chair. Wysocki seconded it. Swedlund moved that the nominations cease. Myrdal seconded it. Motion was approved to cast a unanimous ballot for MacIver.

Ott thanked Pedersen for the good job she did as Chair and also thanked Swedlund and MacIver for accepting the new challenges.

Pedersen reminded Council that the next NDLCC regular meeting will be held on August 1 & 2, 2006, in Bismarck at the Comfort Suites.

MacIver made a motion that the meeting be adjourned. Kuno seconded it. Meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lorretta Graumann State Library Recorder