### North Dakota Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting Comfort Suites – 929 Gateway Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58501 August 1, 2006

<u>Council members present:</u> Vice-Chair Bonnie MacIver, Cheryl Tollefson, Doris Ott, Jeanne Narum, Ilene Larson, Ann Pederson, Dr. Louise Dauphinais, Jan Wysocki, and Phyllis Kuno.

Council members absent: Chair Iris Swedlund and Rosemarie Myrdal.

<u>Others present:</u> Lila Pedersen (former Council member); Cynthia Larson, Assistant State Librarian; Lorretta Graumann, State Library recorder; Roberta Steckler, Director – McLean-Mercer Regional Library; Betty Huelsman, Assistant Librarian – Turtle Lake Public Library; Barbara Robinson, Principal – Underwood Elementary School; Gayle Schuck and Tom Mayer, Library Foundation – Bismarck Public Library.

Vice-Chair MacIver called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m. (CST). She welcomed new Council members Ann Pederson - Special Library representative, and Dr. Louise Dauphinais - Disabled, Economically Disadvantaged, and Minority Populations representative; council members introduced themselves.

MacIver asked for additions or changes to the agenda which was distributed by e-mail. Council members agreed to start the meeting at 8:00 a.m. rather 8:30 a.m. on August 2.

MacIver then asked for approval of the minutes from the Council's last regular meeting via conference call on April 12, 2006, which were distributed by e-mail. Ilene Larson made a motion to approve the minutes. Tollefson seconded it. Motion carried.

MacIver reviewed the grant guidelines, and a copy of the North Dakota State Library Services & Technology Act (LSTA) Five-Year Plan 2003-2007 was passed out to each Council member.

Wysocki made a motion that the grant 'supplies category' can include bar codes. Peterson seconded it. Motion carried.

Council proceeded to do an initial review of the grants with the intent to make final awards on August 2. The meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m. (CST).

# North Dakota Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting August 2, 2006

<u>Council members present:</u> Vice-Chair Bonnie MacIver, Cheryl Tollefson, Doris Ott, Jeanne Narum, Ilene Larson, Ann Pederson, Dr. Louise Dauphinais, Jan Wysocki, and Phyllis Kuno.

Council members absent: Chair Iris Swedlund and Rosemarie Myrdal.

### North Dakota Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting August 2, 2006

<u>Others present:</u> Lila Pedersen (former Council member); Cynthia Larson, Assistant State Librarian; Lorretta Graumann, State Library recorder; Roberta Steckler, Director – McLean-Mercer Regional Library; Betty Huelsman, Assistant Librarian – Turtle Lake Public Library; and Gayle Schuck, Library Foundation – Bismarck Public Library.

Vice-Chair MacIver called the meeting to order at 8:15 a.m. (CST). Council continued with the final review and awarding of grants as follows:

1. Carrington City Library	\$ 35,493.00
2. Divide County Library (Crosby)	66,308.00
3. Fessenden-Bowdon Public School Library	3,300.00
*Providing the school will make the appropriate	•
wiring connections	
4. Maple Valley Public School (Buffalo)	7,650.00
5. Max Community Library	6,064.00
6. Max Public School Library	6,647.00
7. North Central Library Authority (Minot)	Unfunded
8. Turtle Lake Public Library	13,367.00
9. Underwood Public School Library	8,260.00
10. Washburn Public Library	12,649.00
11. Wishek School / City Library	45,657.00
12. Bismarck Veterans Memorial Public Library	6,000.00
(Library Services for the 21 <sup>st</sup> Century)	
13. Bowman Public Library	Unfunded
14. Leach Public Library (Wahpeton)	4,288.00
15. Midway Public School MS/HS Library & Eleme	entary 3,600.00
Library (Library Services for the 21 <sup>st</sup> Century) Inkster	
16. Bismarck Veterans Memorial Public Library	Unfunded
(Libraries Leading the Way)	
17. Burlington-Des Lacs Elementary Library	Unfunded
(Libraries Leading the Way)	
18. Hazen Public Library (Library Services for the 2	1st Unfunded
Century)	
19. Harley E. French Library of the Health Sciences	Unfunded
20. Holy Spirit Elementary School Library (Fargo)	Unfunded
21. Leach Public Library (Libraries Leading the	Unfunded
Way – Wahpeton)	
22. Mandan Public Schools (Libraries Leading the W	Vay) Unfunded
23. Nativity Elementary School Library (Fargo)	Unfunded
24. Underwood Public Library	2,850.00
25. Williston Middle School Library	Unfunded
26. Grand Forks Public Library	Unfunded
27. Ashley Public School Library	Unfunded
28. Beulah Public Library	500.00
29. Margaret Fraase Public Library (Buffalo)	1,850.00

## North Dakota Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting August 2, 2006

	1 000 00
30. Burlington-Des Lacs Elementary Library (Technology)	1,800.00
31. Dunn Center Public Library	1,900.00
32. Enderlin Municipal Library	1,900.00
33. Hankinson Public School	1,598.00
34. Hazen Public Library	1,310.00
35. Heart of America Public Library (Rugby)	2,398.00
36. Hebron Public Library	4,456.00
37. Harry L. Petrie Public Library (Linton)	Unfunded
38. Linton Public School	3,255.00
39. Lisbon Public Library	1,400.00
40. Custer Elementary / Mandan Public Schools	809.00
41. Fort Lincoln Elementary / Mandan Public Schools	809.00
42. Lewis and Clark Elementary / Mandan Public Schools	809.00
43. Mary Stark Elementary / Mandan Public Schools	809.00
44. Roosevelt Elementary / Mandan Public Schools	809.00
45. Mandan Senior High School Library	1,218.00
46. Midway Public School MS/HS Library & Elementary	3,300.00
Library	
47. MLS – Mohall School District #1	3,300.00
48. Sawyer Public School Library	Unfunded
49. Stutsman County Public Library	Unfunded
50. Surrey Public School	3,380.00
51. Turtle Lake Public Library	1,380.00
52. Ward County Public Library (Minot)	1,554.00
*Kenmare Branch: 1 computer, 1 printer, &	,
1 monitor	
53. West Fargo Public Library	1,400.00
*One computer for the Business Center	

Chair MacIver called for a roll call vote on whether or not to fund the Bismarck Veterans Memorial Public Library *Libraries Leading the Way* grant request for \$20,000.00. There were 2 yes votes and 6 no votes. Funding the grant was not supported.

Dauphinais made a motion that the InfoLynx grants are awarded with the condition of the State Library getting a minimum of three licenses at no charge, to utilize and maintain the InfoLynx interlibrary loan/hold system. Tollefson seconded it. Motion carried.

Kuno made a motion that Council roll over any excess amount to the next grant round. Wysocki seconded it. Motion carried.

Narum made a motion to accept all of the grants as funded. Tollefson seconded it. Motion carried.

Wysocki moved that the State Library not approve grant variances for the technology grants. Pederson seconded it. Motion carried.

# North Dakota Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting August 2, 2006

Tollefson moved that letters of support and grant applications must reach the State Library by the submission deadline. Motion carried.

Ott suggested Council should start making site visits to locations that have received grants and asked Council to consider holding its next meeting at one of those locations. Council discussed this and decided to hold its next regular meeting in Minot on November 1, 2006 (1:00 – 5:00 p.m.) and November 2, 2006 (8:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.). Council plans to visit all schools in Minot that have received grant funds, as well as the public library.

MacIver adjourned the meeting at 1:00 p.m. (CST).

Respectfully submitted,

Lorretta Graumann State Library Recorder