North Dakota Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting

February 6, 2008, 1:05 p.m. Fargo Public Library, Carlson Branch 2801 32nd Ave. S. Fargo, North Dakota

Council members present: Chair Iris Swedlund, Doris Ott, Ann Pederson, Wilbur Stolt, Rosemarie Myrdal, Bonnie MacIver, Donna James, and Robert Anderson.

Council members absent: Mark Holman, Dr. Louise Dauphinais, Cheryl Tollefson.

Others present: Cynthia Larson, Assistant State Librarian and Gail Brustad, State Library Recorder.

Welcome: Chair Swedlund welcomed the Council members and called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

Review of agenda: Chair Swedlund asked Council to review the agenda for any changes or additions. A tour of the new Fargo Public Library was added and will take place approximately 3:00 p.m. today.

Minutes: Chair Swedlund asked for approval of the minutes from Council's last meeting on August 14 & 15, 2007. Pederson asked that the spelling of her last name be corrected throughout the minutes. Pederson inquired whether or not the committee will be discussing pricing as mentioned on page 4. The response was yes; it is on the agenda as On-Line Library Resources.

Anderson moved that the minutes be approved. Pederson seconded it. Motion carried.

Review of Grants: Council reviewed the 2008 grant applications. Ott clarified the process of voting: according to the by-laws, no voting by proxy can take place. A vote can be made only if the committee member is in attendance of the meeting.

Myrdal moved to not fund Jamestown's application due to the fact that it did not meet the grant guidelines. Anderson seconded it. Motion carried.

Anderson made a motion to fund the grant requests listed below. Stolt seconded it. Motion carried. The grants are for participation in World Cat.

| 1. Ashley Public School Library | \$13,860 |
|-------------------------------------------|----------|
| 2. Fessenden-Bowdon Public School Library | \$16,700 |
| 3. Ward County Public Library | \$69,720 |

Online Library Resources: a survey was done after the last Council meeting to find out the needs/wants of the libraries. The top 13 were chosen and then a second survey was sent out asking libraries to choose their top two choices.

The top two Online Library Resources are EBSCO Auto Repair Reference Center and Net Library Audio Books.

The consensus is to fund only the purchase of EBSCO Auto Repair Reference Center for 2008.

Council adjourned at 4:30.

North Dakota Library Coordinating Council Regular Meeting

February 7, 2008, 8:40 a.m. Fargo Public Library, Carlson Branch 2801 32nd Ave. S. Fargo, North Dakota

Council members present: Chair Iris Swedlund, Doris Ott, Ann Pederson, Wilbur Stolt, Rosemarie Myrdal, Bonnie MacIver, Donna James, and Robert Anderson arrived at 10:15 a.m.

Council members absent: Mark Holman, Dr. Louise Dauphinais, Cheryl Tollefson.

Others present: Cynthia Larson, Assistant State Librarian and Gail Brustad, State Library Recorder.

Chair Swedlund called the meeting to order at 8:40 a.m.

Next Grant Round: Discussion centered on needs and what categories would be best, along with requirements.

MacIver made a motion that applicants be required to have a 25% (4:1) match for the equipment category. Pederson seconded it. Motion carried. MacIver made a motion that this grant round be - Category 1: Participate in the Statewide Online catalog through WorldCat, and Category 2: Equipment Update with a 25% match. Myrdal seconded it. Motion carried.

The requirements of the equipment category is 1) 25% match, 2) the grant covers only computers and printers and 3) all equipment is kept in library.

The grant application must be <u>complete</u> in order to be considered.

A section should be added to the Quarterly Report asking for three real-life stories of how the services are being used by patrons.

Anderson made a motion to include the following sentence in the guidelines: *Libraries* whose records are currently on WorldCat or who have received grants in the past for retrospective conversion are not eligible for this current World Cat category. Stolt seconded it. Motion carried.

A Coordinating Council meeting has been scheduled for May 14 (9:00 am) and 15, 2008 in Bismarck. New grant applications will be reviewed.

Copies of new grant applications will be mailed to Council members as they become available.

Site Visits: each Council member gave a brief synopsis of the site visit they conducted. Copies are attached.

Council members felt follow-ups should continue to be done after grants are awarded to be sure guidelines are being met.

Election of Officers:

Stolt nominated Bonnie MacIver as Chair. Stolt made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Bonnie MacIver as President. Anderson seconded it. Motion carried.

Stolt nominated Ann Pederson as Vice-Chair. Stolt made a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for Ann Pederson as Vice-President. Myrdal seconded it. Motion carried.

Other:

A letter will be sent by the Council President to any Council member who misses two consecutive meetings letting them know that the bylaws require 'taking' a member who misses three consecutive meetings off the council.

Swedlund will send a letter of thanks to the Fargo Public Library for their services during this meeting.

Recognition to those who have served on the Council: Larson suggested sending past Council members a plaque; Myrdal suggested a certificate.

It was decided to send a thank-you letter along with a certificate to past members who have served on the Council during the past ten years.

Ott asked the Council to email names to her of persons qualified to serve as replacements for the vacant positions on the Council.

Meeting adjourned at 12:10 pm.