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Selling Grain?
Know your rights and responsibilities regarding
grading disputes, payment, storage rates, and handling fees.

NO GRAIN LICENSE—
NO BOND PROTECTION

= Bond coverage does not exist if a buyer is
not licensed. If grain is sold to an unlicensed
buyer and if the buyer does not pay for the
grain, there is no bond coverage available to
help pay the seller. Court action may be a
farmer’s only recourse if an unlicensed buyer
fails to pay for grain. Therefore, farmers are
strongly encouraged to check to ensure that
the buyer is licensed. Warehouses and grain
buyers must be licensed and bonded.
Unlicensed buyers are operating illegally.

= In North Dakota, bond requirements are based
on the physical size of an elevator or on the
amount of grain that a grain buyer handles.
Even if the buyer is licensed and bonded,
there is no guarantee that farmers will be
fully reimbursed if a buyer becomes
insolvent. If the buyer does not have enough
grain and bond assets available to satisfy all
valid grain claims, available funds are
distributed on a prorated basis.

=  Farmers must also be aware that bond
coverage may not be available if grain is
sold to a company that is located outside
the state. If grain is sold to out-of-state
entities, the laws of the state in which the
buyer is located may govern the transaction.
Farmers may find that they have far less
protection in those states than they do if the
grain was sold to a company that is licensed in
North Dakota.

= To find out if a warehouse or grain buyer is
licensed in North Dakota, visit the Public
Service Commission web site at
www.psc.state.nd.us or call (701) 328-4097.

CREDIT-SALE CONTRACTS AND
INDEMNITY FUND

® Delayed price and deferred payment
contracts are examples of credit-sale
contracts. State law defines credit-sale
contracts as written grain sale contracts that
provide that the sale price may be paid more
than 30 days after the delivery or release of the
grain for sale.

Title to grain will pass from the farmer to the buyer
when a credit-sale contract is signed, unless the
farmer has signed a contract providing for the title to
the grain to pass to the buyer at the time of delivery.

Farmers should be aware that credit-sale contracts
are not protected by the buyer’s bond unless the
buyer has secured independent bond coverage. If
the buyer has secured independent bond coverage,
the amount of bond available should be identified in
the contract disclaimer. If no credit-sale contract
bond coverage is available, disclaimer language
concerning the lack of bond coverage must be
printed in bold type immediately above the signature
block on the contract. The disclaimer statement
must contain the following or similar language:

THIS CONTRACT IS NOT PROTECTED BY
BOND COVERAGE IN THE EVENT OF THE
BUYER’S INSOLVENCY.

Although there may not be bond protection
afforded to those entering into credit-sale
contracts, a fund was created by the 2003 Legis-
lature that provides protection for unpaid credit-
sale contracts executed after August 1, 2003, in
grain elevator or grain buyer insolvencies. Each
patron’s coverage is limited to 80% of the patron’s
unpaid credit-sale contracts with the insolvent buyer,
up to a maximum payout of $280,000.
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Selling Grain?
Know your rights and responsibilities regarding
grading disputes, payment, storage rates and handling fees.

FARMERS—CREDIT-SALE
CONTRACTS MUST BE SIGNED

State law requires that scale tickets be issued for
every load of grain received and that all scale
tickets be converted into cash, noncredit-sale
contracts, credit-sale contracts, or warehouse
receipts within 30 days after the grain is delivered
to the warehouse. State law also requires every
grain buyer, upon receiving grain, to issue a scale
ticket or comparable receipt and shall pay the
farmer within 30 days of receipt of the grain.

Farmerswho make adecision to sell grain and

take payment more than 30 days after the delivery
or release of the grain for sale, must enter into a
credit-sale contract with the grain warehouse where
the grain is delivered or with the grain buyer that
received the grain. A credit-sale contract must be
signed to be valid and enforceable. If credit-sale
contracts are not signed within the required time,
grain warehouses and grain buyers are at risk of
having a complaint filed against them.

Farmers are encouraged to work with their grain
warehouses and grain buyers to get all credit-sale
contracts signed within the time permitted by state
law.

STORAGE RATES AND
HANDLING FEES

=  State law does not prescribe grain elevator
storage rates and handling fees. Each state
licensed grain warehouse sets its own
storage rates and redelivery fees (i.e. “in”
and “out” charges).

= Licensees cannot, however, unjustly
discriminate among patrons. State licensed
grain warehouses must file their proposed rate
schedule with the Public Service Commission;
it must also be posted at the warehouse. The
rates may be revised upon filing with the PSC.

=  Storage rates must be stated on warehouse
receipts. If a warehouseman changes his rates,
the rates that were in effect when a warehouse
receipt was issued are the rates that apply to
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that storage contract. Warehouse receipts on
beans expire on April 30 of each year; other
grain receipts expire on June 30. If expired
receipts are reissued, the storage rate in effect
at the time is the rate that will apply to the
renewed receipt.

Farmers should not confuse storage rates
with credit-sale contract service or
handling charges (delayed price and
deferred payment-type transactions).
These fees are not regulated and are
governed by the terms of the contract that
is entered into by the buyer and the seller.

GRADING DISPUTES—DON'T WAIT
OR YOU'LL BE TOO LATE
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State law does not regulate elevator purchase
prices, premiums, or discounts. State law does
provide, however, that warehousemen may
not unjustly discriminate among patrons.

If a farmer does not agree with an elevator’s
test results he has the right to ask that an
independent test be performed on his grain.
He must, however, ask for the test when the
grain is delivered.

To initiate the process, the farmer must ask
for the independent test. The farmer and the
warehouseman must then draw a mutually
agreeable sample of the load. This sample
must be sealed in a container and sent to a
federally licensed inspection service or to
some other mutually agreed to third party for
testing.

The buyer and the seller are both obligated
to accept the results of the independent
test. The farmer is responsible for the cost
of the tests.

State law requires that warehousemen and
grain buyers post a notice concerning the
law’s provisions concerning the resolution of
grain grading disputes. To obtain a copy of
the notice, visit the PSC’s web site at
www.psc.state.nd.us or call (701) 328-4097.

Note: This information piece was originally produced and disseminated in August 2000 in cooperation
with the Agricultural Extension Service, North Dakota State University.



