The “Do Not Call” Law

Office of Attorney General, Consumer Protection Division
4205 State Street, Bismarck, ND 58503. Website: www.ag.nd.gov

re you fed up with having your evenings interrupted by calls from
telemarketers? Now you can do something about it ... You can stop almost
all telemarketing calls by registering on the North Dakota "Do Not Call" list.

Do Not Call | North Dakota has adopted the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) National Do Not Call
Registry as the state “Do Not Call” list. This means a number needs only to be
registered once and it will be included on both the state’s and the FTC’s “Do Not Call”
list.

All (701) area code residential and cellular telephone numbers can be registered. Once
registered, a number will remain on the Do Not Call list indefinitely unless it is
removed by the home owner or cellular telephone customer.

The Do Not Call law does not apply to business telephone numbers. While it is
possible to register a business telephone number, it is not a violation of state or federal
law to call a business number that has been registered on the list.

How to | To register by phone, the call must be placed from the phone number to be registered.
Register | Register by phone, toll-free: 1-888-382-1222.

To register online, go to: www.ag.nd.gov or www.donotcall.gov.

No matter how a telephone number is registered, it is automatically included on both
the state “Do Not Call” list and the national list.

The Law | Telemarketers have up to 31 days to comply with the “do not call” registration. If a
telemarketer calls a number more than 31 days after it has been registered, the
telemarketer is breaking the law.

Even if you do not register on the list, telemarketers cannot:
e C(Call before 8:00 AM or after 9:00 PM local time.

e Use professional fundraisers to make calls.

e Block your Caller ID service.

e Use an automatic dialing device unless it disconnects within ten seconds after you
hang up.

e Use pre-recorded messages or “synthesized” voice messages unless a live operator
comes on the line first to get your permission. The operator must tell you what
company is calling, what it is promoting and whether it intends to solicit money
from you.

e Telemarketers must state at the beginning of the call the caller’s name, location and
the business.
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Even after a telephone number is registered on the “Do Not Call” list, some calls are
still permitted by law. Calls permitted under North Dakota law are:

e Calls from a person or business that has previously received your written permis-
sion to call.

e Calls from a person or business that has established a business relationship with
you during the past two years.

e Calls by charitable organizations when the caller is a volunteer or employee of that
organization.

e (Calls that solicit the expression of ideas, opinions or votes.

e (alls for sales that won’t be completed until a later face-to-face meeting between
you and the person making the call.

e (alls by political parties, organizations or candidates.

These callers do not break the law by calling a telephone number that has been regis-
tered on the Do Not Call List. However, if these calls are annoying or unwanted, sim-
ply inform the caller to put your number on the internal “do not call” list.

The Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Division enforces the “Do Not Call”
law. If a telemarketer breaks the law, contact the Consumer Protection Division. The
following information is necessary to file a complaint:

e Name and/or phone number of the telemarketing company.
e The date and time of the call.
It is helpful if you can get the name of the person making the call.

Telemarketers who violate the law may face prosecution and/or fines. The person re-
ceiving the illegal call also can sue in a private legal action any telemarketer who vio-
lates the law.

Report violations of the Do Not Call law to the Consumer Protection Division by call-
ing toll-free: 1-800-472-2600.

Although several “warnings” have circulated via e-mail, at this time no cellular tele-

phone provider is selling to telemarketers a list of its customers. However, under
North Dakota law, cellular telephone numbers can be added to the do not call list.

Keep a note of the date each phone number was registered on the Do Not Call list:

Number: Date Registered:
Number: Date Registered:
Number: Date Registered:

This fact sheet is not intended to cover every situation. The Office of Attorney General is prohibited by law
from providing legal advice. For legal advice or assistance please contact an attorney in private practice.
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