
North Dakota’s “Lemon” Law 

E ven the most dependable car manufacturers sometimes make what’s commonly called a “lemon” ~ a car 
that frequently breaks down and seems to defy repair.  

 This information will help you understand what must happen before your new car is determined to be a true 
“lemon”, and how to use the law. 

 
The Lemon 

Law 
North Dakota’s “lemon law” (North Dakota Century Code Sections 51-07-16 through 
51�07�22) applies only to new vehicles –  It does not apply to motorcycles, motor 
homes, or used cars.  

You have little protection against defects that surface after you buy a used car, unless you 
purchased an extended warranty or you can prove the seller lied about the condition of the 
car. 

Your Rights: The lemon law gives owners of new vehicles the right to: 

• Receive a comparable, reliable, vehicle in exchange for the lemon; or 

• Return the “lemon” for a full refund of the purchase price, less a reasonable 
deduction for use. 

Only problems which “substantially impair the use and market value” of a vehicle are 
covered under the lemon law.  In other words, if the car’s clock does not keep good time, 
that is annoying but it does not make the car a lemon.   

When is a Car 
a Lemon? 

North Dakota’s “lemon law” spells out what must happen before your new car is 
determined to be a true lemon:  

• The problem must be something that “substantially impairs the use and market 
value of the passenger motor vehicle,” and the dealer must be given a “reasonable 
number of attempts” to fix it.   

• The defect or problem must be reported to the dealer or manufacturer within one 
year of the purchase or during the term of the express warranty -- whichever is 
earlier.   

A “reasonable number” is considered to be more than three tries, or a cumulative total of 
30 business days in which the vehicle is out of service during the term of applicable 
warranties or a year from purchase. 

Because all new cars have at least a 12,000 mile/12 month full-service warranty, you 
probably have a year to report the defect under most circumstances. 
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What Should 
You Do? 

You are required first to try and settle the dispute through the manufacturer’s arbitration 
procedures. Car manufacturers have third-party arbitration systems set up to work out 
non-binding settlements. If you are a North Dakota resident, the arbitration hearing must 
be held in North Dakota.  

• Many auto manufacturers have their own dispute settlement boards.  Check your 
owners manual for specific information. 

If you are not satisfied with the outcome of the arbitration hearing, you may hire a pri-
vate attorney and sue for a new car or a full refund.  A judge will decide in civil court 
who is correct.  The law gives you little time to sue, however.  You must bring action 
within  six months of the expiration of the warranty or 18 months from the date your car 
was delivered to you, whichever occurs first.  

If you win, the manufacturer must: 

1. replace the vehicle with a comparable vehicle or  

2. accept the return of the vehicle from you, and refund the full purchase price, includ-
ing all related charges, less a reasonable charge for your use of the vehicle not to ex-
ceed 10 cents per mile driven or 10 percent of the purchase price, whichever is less. 

If You Leased 
A Lemon: 

If you leased a car that has been determined to be a lemon, you are entitled to receive a 
refund of all lease payments, cash payments, and security deposits, less a reasonable de-
duction for use of the vehicle.    

Your lease agreement will be cancelled when you return the car, and you cannot be 
charged any penalty for early termination. 

If You Bought  
a Lemon: 

Under the law, a car may be resold or leased again even though it is a lemon, as long as 
the manufacturer provides a warranty for 12 months or 12,000 miles from the date of re-
sale and provides a statement to the buyer to the effect that the car had been returned to 
the manufacturer as a lemon. 

Questions? If you have questions about settling any dispute with a new car dealer, contact: 

• AUTOCAP, a consumer action program sponsored by the Automobile Dealers 
Association of North Dakota. Autocap’s telephone number (in Fargo) is (701) 
293-1541. 

• BBB Auto Line, a third-party dispute resolution program for automobile manu-
facturers sponsored by the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. The toll free 
number is 1-800-955-5100. 

You may also contact the Consumer Protection Division at (701) 328-3404, or toll free 
(800) 472-2600 or (TTY) 800-366-6888. 

This fact sheet is not intended to cover every situation. The Office of Attorney General is prohibited by law 
from providing legal advice or legal services to members of the public. For legal advice or assistance please 
contact an attorney in private practice.  


